In His Arms

My attempt at a slam poem. Thoughts?

 

Why do I feel

inadequate

empty

impure 

imperfect

like a screw up

 

Why am i 

alone

unsatisfied

longing for more

always searching

 

Where is

my success

my love 

my perfect life that every American is supposed to be guaranteed?

Did I lose it?

 

No. 

No, it’s standing here waiting

With open hands

With a blanket of love

to cover my impurities

my inadequacies 

my emptiness 

my longing.

 

HE is here

HE has always been here

HE created me,

HE created my salvation

HE made me so that I wouldn’t fit anywhere but His arms.

 

Those arms.

Those arms that bring

peace

love 

joyfulness

patience

 

The virtues we long for

Wrapped up in His arms.

Why did it take me so long to find Him?

 

Why was I looking

in school

in media

in friends 

in relationships

When all I had to do

Was turn around.

 

And my search was ended

In His arms. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems

Leave a Reply

