A Traveling Door

If I had a door

That could take me anyplace

Where would I choose?

What would I do?

 

I could appear in London,

Spend the day by Big Ben,

Visit the palace,

Meet the queen for a day.

 

I could wake up in Venice,

In a boat on the canal,

See all the beautiful sights

From inside a rocking boat.

 

I could appear on the Eiffel Tower

In the City of Love;

Meet the man of my dreams,

Share a kiss in the sun.

 

I could spend a night

In the City that Never Sleeps,

Watch Broadway show after show,

And dance with a celebrity.

 

Yes I could do all of these things,

Live the life of my dreams,

But sometimes in chasing a lie

We could leave a life behind.

 

I could travel the world

And see all my favorite things,

But at the end of the day

I would always come back.

 

Yes I hope to see the world,

And touch other cultures,

But without my friends and family

It would all be for naught.

 

So one day I’ll go;

I’ll do everything I hope,

But I’ll take my life with me,

To become who I am. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems

Leave a Reply

